Love Wins

This morning, the Supreme Court of the United States ruled in favor of same-sex marriage as federal law. I am too excited to even type, so I’m just going to post some highlights:

Here is the opening statement of that legislation:

“The Fourteenth Amendment requires a State to license a marriage between two people of the same sex and to recognize a marriage between two people of the same sex when their marriage was lawfully licensed and performed out-of-State.”

Here is a beautiful newly updated map of the United States:

  
Here is a link to President Obama’s speech in response to the ruling, in which he says,

“Today we can say in no uncertain terms that we’ve made our union a little more perfect.”  

And here is the absolutely poetic closing paragraph of Justice Kennedy’s majority ruling:
  
It is so ordered. Love wins. Congratulations, America! ❤

  

14 thoughts on “Love Wins

  1. leanintothediscomfort says:

    This makes me SO incredibly happy, I don’t think I can accurately put my feelings into words!
    EVERYONE has the right to marry who they love – gender is irrelevant.
    I have tears in my eyes and can’t help but think of my twin brother, who is a step closer to feeling wholeheartedly valued, accepted, and equal in the eyes of others (of course, to me he is perfect!).
    Well done, America. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ZOE says:

    I saw this when I woke up and thought I was dreaming.

    YOU MEAN OUR GOV FINALLY GOT THEIR HEADS OUT OF THEIR TIGHT ASSES AND FINALLY ALLOW PEOPLE TO MARRY WHOEVER THE FUCK THEY LOVE?

    About time. Don’t screw this up, government.

    Like

Leave a comment!

