Phone Check-in

After feeling like total shit all damn day, I finally decided to call the therapist I’ve been seeing and leave a voicemail. I half-coherently explained that today has been difficult and very painful and asked if I could see her for an office session tomorrow. She’d mentioned in our first session that she doesn’t generally talk to clients in between sessions, so out of respect I alluded to that during my message. I wanted her to know that I heard her and understood her boundaries. 

When she called back, however, the first thing she said was that it was absolutely okay for us to do a brief phone check-in if I was having a difficult time and then she offered to talk to me for a few minutes right then. I reminded her that that’s not what she said in session. She explained that for the sake of brevity, she didn’t go into the minutiae of between-session contact. She said that if it was confusing to me, we could wait and talk about that in person, which I felt was very respectful and professional. I felt clear enough on the matter though, so I attempted to explain what was going on. 

She helped me work through some of the thoughts and emotions that have made this day so challenging. We weren’t always on the same page, but she is great about being transparent with her thought process and ensuring she’s tracking with my process. After a point, she mentioned that she was essentially just problem-solving, which I seemed very defensive of. She’s right. I was defensive, since it seems like people get incredibly frustrated if I don’t immediately take their advice and say “oh wow! You just totally changed my life!”

Then she said, “Well, it seems like you don’t need that right now then. Maybe what you need is for someone to just see you where you’re at and acknowledge it.”

Yes!! That is actually EXACTLY what I needed! 

So then I started to feel a little better and calm down some. She offered me a session tomorrow morning and asked how I felt about that. I admitted that I felt afraid. She acknowledged that it would be scary since she’s essentially asking me to trust her and trust the space we’re creating in therapy.  But then she said that since trust is a lot of what we’re working on right now, maybe we should just go for it and schedule the session. 

I took a deep breath and said, “Yeah…I think I can do that.”

Feeling like we’re making some progress. 

14 thoughts on “Phone Check-in

  1. lilylanders30 says:

    Therapy can be a big help, but you’ve got to let it be, want it to be. Making the appointments and going to them is half the challenge though and it sounds like you’re doing great! I think it’s awesome that you acknowledged to yourself that needed help and took that step. I too just recently started going back to therapy. I know from experience it can be difficult. Sounds like you’ve got it though, just keep up the good work!!

    Like

  2. Zoe says:

    What I like about her so far is that she is listening and she is respecting / working with your boundaries, but at the same time she is making an effort to reach out and show she is willing to take this further so that the two of you can start working toward what you need. Or so it feels like she is. I hope tomorrow goes well for you — that it’s a positive step. Don’t be shy of telling her, of reminding her (if you can) exactly why this trust thing is hard for you. Wishing you all the best! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. northernrose17 says:

    I’m glad you were able to contact your therapist. My therapist will give me phone support between sessions if I’m having a difficult time. I send her a text requesting the call and then if she has time to chat she will give me a time to call her. The call is limited to 15 minutes max. I am also allowed to email her. She sends an acknowledgement reply to the email during working hours but will not get into a discussion via email. I hope your next appointment is helpful. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cat says:

    What strikes me is that, not only did you reach out by calling, you also took a huge step by accepting the appointment. That might not sound like much, but I reckon it could be a turning point. Trust doesn’t happen overnight, but you’re doing great at working towards that. I hope the extra session went well.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment!

