She Wrote Back

Zooey e-mailed me back. In under 24 hours. Here’s what she said:

Hi [My Name],
I am so happy to hear that you are settling into treatment. It seems that you are in good hands, and I am confident that you will work hard in therapy, as you have in the past. I appreciate the thoughtfulness you put into contacting me. I am happy to hear that you are well.

I hope you and [Wife] are staying safe in this wild weather!
Zooey

It’s so short and simple and classic Zooey. I am admittedly very pleased that she wrote me back at all, let alone so quickly. I feel a lot of things about this, so I need more time to process. But it’s a good start, I think.

3 thoughts on “She Wrote Back

  1. ambivalencegirl says:

    I am often slow to catch up on blogs but I couldn’t help but comment on this one! I’m glad she emailed back. I’m thinking it was a good email, short and sweet but caring and in a new sorts of way. I’m sure it stirs up many feelings and has a bittersweet component.

    Liked by 1 person

      • ambivalencegirl says:

        Yes and more importantly dispels the myth that she wanted to nothing to do with you. I think therapists often want the best for us and sometimes have just exhausted their own resources or simply don’t know what else to do. So yes, it is all good because it has to be, right 😉 I often think about how much people were a part of my life and then all of a sudden were not. Somehow I guess we survive and move along with a piece of them in our heart. We can either remain wounded or feel blessed. Ha, or maybe both.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment!

